In October Israel Post is issuing a stamp featuring Rachel's Tomb.
The tomb of Rachel our Matriarch has been recognized in its current location near the neighborhood of Gilo, on the boundary between Jerusalem and Bethlehem, for 1700 years. In ancient times, a tombstone comprised of 12 stones, symbolizing the sons of Jacob, was set there. Later, a cupola resting on four columns was erected and in the 17th century Rachel's Tomb was made into an enclosed structure. In 1841, Sir Moses Monteﬁore added another room to Rachel's Tomb. Today, due to security constraints, the small domed building located within the Israeli enclave in the northern outskirts of Bethlehem has been fortiﬁed. Nonetheless, hundreds of thousands of Jews visit the site each year.
Millions of Jews have visited the site over the generations, praying and crying to Rachel the Matriarch to plead their case before God, requesting health, fruit of the womb, livelihood, as well as general salvation. The simplicity of the site has charmed passersby, nomads and pilgrims for years. They have recorded descriptions of the tomb, the site's customs and the experience that has developed around it, initially in writing and later through drawings and photographs.
The shape of the tomb has been depicted over the years on Jewish art objects, on sacred books and on stamps. Talmudic tales and legends, poems and liturgical poems, stories and plays have been written about Rachel herself.
The stamp features Rachel's Tomb, the historic domed building and a symbolic rendering of Rachel's image.