800 Years of Dessau commemorated on German stamp

800 Years of Dessau commemorated on German stamp

This year Germany celebrates 800 years of Dessau, a stamp was issued on this occasion by German post.

Dessau was a city in Germany on the junction of the rivers Mulde and Elbe, in the Federal State of Saxony-Anhalt.

Dessau was first mentioned in 1213. It became an important centre in 1570, when the principality of Anhalt was founded. Dessau became the capital of this state within the Holy Roman Empire. Anhalt was dissolved In 1603 it was split into four – later five – Anhalts, Dessau becoming the capital of the mini-state of Anhalt-Dessau until 1918. In 1863 two of the noble line died out, and became reunited.

Dessau is famous for its college of architecture Bauhaus. It moved here in 1925 after it had been forced to close in Weimar. Many famous artists were lecturers in Dessau in the following years, among them Walter Gropius, Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky. The Nazis forced the closure of the Bauhaus in 1931, and it was not reopened until 1986.

The composer Kurt Weill was born in Dessau. Since 1993 the city has hosted an annual Kurt Weill Festival. Dessau was also the birthplace of the philosopher Moses Mendelssohn (in 1729), and Leopold I, Prince of Anhalt-Dessau, a lauded field marshal for the Kingdom of Prussia.

The city is nestled in the Middle of the Elbe Biosphere Reserve and proud to be the only city in the world having two World Heritage Sites, the Bauhaus and its masters' houses and the beautiful gardens of Dessau.

Add tag

You should contact administrator to place your tags

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!