100th Tour de France stamp issue by Luxembourg

100th Tour de France stamp issue by Luxembourg

The "Tour de France" is the world's most renowned bike race. Traditionally, it has several stages which involve cycling across France, and ends after a grueling 3,500 km at the "Arc de Triomphe" in Paris.

Since 1903, the 3-week long race has been held in July. The only exceptions were during the two world wars, when no contest was held between 1915 and 1918 and 1940 and 1946 respectively.

As a result, this year's race marks the centenary of the event.

Throughout its 100-year long history, four Luxembourgers have won the "Tour de France".

The Belgian graphic designer Jean-Philippe Janus, who lives in Luxembourg, has graphically immortalizes the names and portraits of these four Luxembourgish heroes on new Luxembourgian stamps, while also illustrating two typical elements of the "Tour de France": the Pyrenees, symbol of the world-famous mountain stages, and the "Arc de Triomphe" - the traditional goal and endpoint for all the competition's cyclists.

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!