Marshall Islands: New stamp issue celebrating the 10th Anniversary of the Euro

On July 16, 2012, the Marshall Islands Postal Service issued twelve new stamps celebrating the 10th Anniversary of the Euro.

The official currency of the eurozone, the euro is the second most traded currency in
the world after the U.S. dollar. Euro notes and coins were introduced on January 1,
2002. At midnight on New Year's Eve 2001, European Central Bank offices in Frankfurt
erupted in celebration as a huge mock-up of a euro coin was lit up in front of the
building. The euro is divided into 100 cents. All circulating euro coins have a common
side bearing the denomination and depicting a map in the background. The other side of
every coin has a national side with a special design chosen by the issuing country.
Although different countries issue differently-designed euro coins, all euro coins are
accepted for commerce in all countries which have adopted the euro.

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!