Cocos (Keeling) Islands Butterflies – Set of stamps

The Cocos (Keeling) Islands comprise twenty-seven islands formed from two atolls in the middle of the Indian Ocean, more than 2,700 kilometres north-west of Perth. Butterflies antennae are the main organs of smell; the sense of taste is located on the legs. A butterfly has two compound eyes (eyes with lots of facets gathered close together) and each separate facet sees a little part of what the butterfly is looking at.

Most butterflies fly by day and generally rest with their wings closed in an upright position above the body.

There are at least seven butterfly species found on the Cocos Islands and four of these are featured. They are the Varied Eggfly Hypolimnas bolina; the Australian Painted Lady Vanessa kershawi; the Common Crow Euploea corinna; and the Meadow Argus Junonia villida. Flora found on the Islands is shown in the background - the orange flower is a Cordia subcordata and the yellow flower is a Wedelia trilobata.

The Butterflies stamps were printed in 10 Micron Stochastic and these are the first Australian stamps to be issued using this technology. The use of 10 micron provides a much sharper print result giving more intricate detail.

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!