Whales on new stamp issue from Aruba

The Postal Service of Aruba has released a stamp issue featuring whales.

In Aruba there are confirmed presence of 13 Cetacean species, of which 8 have whale names: The Humpback whale, Bryde's whale, the Sperm whale, the Pygme sperm whale, the beaked whale, the Killer whale (dolphinidea), the Pilot whale (dolphinidea), and the False Kilerwhale (dolphinidea).

Like all mammals, whales breathe air, are warm-blooded, nurse their young with milk from mammary glands, and have body hair. Whales have forelimbs modified as fins, a tail with horizontal flukes, and nasal openings (blowholes) on top of the head, allowing the animal to remain mostly submerged whilst breathing. Breathing involves expelling excess water from the blowhole, forming an upward spout, followed by inhaling air into the lungs. Unlike most animals, whales are conscious breathers. All mammals sleep, but whales cannot afford to become unconscious for long because they may drown.

Add tag

You should contact administrator to place your tags

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!