USPS Immortalizes Literary Giants

Ten great poets are honored on this Twentieth-Century Poets (Forever) stamp sheet, including several who served as United States Poet Laureate. The many awards won by this illustrious group - Elizabeth Bishop, Joseph Brodsky, Gwendolyn Brooks, E. E. Cummings, Robert Hayden, Denise Levertov, Sylvia Plath, Theodore Roethke, Wallace Stevens, and William Carlos Williams - include numerous Pulitzer Prizes, National Book Awards, and honorary degrees.

Each stamp features a photograph of one of the 10 poets. Text on the back of the stamp sheet includes an excerpt from one poem by each poet. The art director was Derry Noyes.

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!