New stamps mark 40 years of Bangladesh independence

Bangladesh postal department has released new stamps marking the 40th anniversary of the country's independence.

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina did the honours at her office on Saturday.

The Tk 20 stamp features a portrait of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and the other four stamps of Tk 10 denomination each illustrate four memorial sculptures of the country's War of Liberation.

Bangladesh first issued its own postage stamps upon gaining independence in 1971. A set of eight, with various motifs including a map of the country were released. Shortly after, all eight values overprinted "Bangladesh Liberated" in both English and Bengali were prepared in the United Kingdom, but only three values were issued in Bangladesh.

The first stamps of the country were issued in Pakistani rupees (1 rupee = 100 paisa), but in 1972 a new currency was introduced (1 taka = 100 poisha) and since then all stamps have been inscribed with taka or poisha values.

Add tag

You should contact administrator to place your tags

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!