16th SAARC Summit

Bhutan Post has issued a series of stamps to commemorate the 16th SAARC Summit. A set of 8 stamps on a sheetlet features flags of SAARC Nations. A Miniature sheet was issued with a single stamp showing flags of SAARC countries.

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is an organization of South Asian nations, founded in 1985 and dedicated to economic, technological, social, and cultural development emphasizing collective self-reliance. Its seven founding members are Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Afghanistan joined the organization in 2007. Meetings of heads of state are usually scheduled annually; meetings of foreign secretaries, twice annually. Headquarters are in Kathmandu, Nepal. The main objective of the Association is to promote the welfare of the people of South Asia and to improve their quality of life.

Add tag

You should contact administrator to place your tags

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!