ASEAN stamp by Vietnam

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), established on 8 August 1967, is an inter-governmental organization, which aims to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development; promote regional peace and stability; promote active collaboration and mutual assistance among its members (Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam).

On 28 July 1995, Vietnam officially joined ASEAN. Throughout the past 15 years in ASEAN, Vietnam has worked closely with fellow members to promote ASEAN internal and external cooperation.

The year 2010 Vietnam officially assumed the position of ASEAN Chairman on January 1 till December 31, replacing Thailand and marks the 15th year of Vietnam's accession to ASEAN.

In order to celebrate this event, the Ministry of Information and Communications launched a designing contest of postage stamp named "Vietnam in the ASEAN Community". Introducing a creative idea and unique design, Artist Nguyen Du (a painter from Vietnam Stamp Company) was awarded First prize.

The stamp depicts the Vietnam Flag together with other ASEAN Flags around the logo of Vietnam 2010 ASEAN Chairman.

Add tag

You should contact administrator to place your tags

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!