Commonwealth Games – New Gibraltar Issue

Gibraltar Post has issued a stamp in honor of the XIX Commonwealth Games.

The Commonwealth Games is an international, multi-sport event involving thousands of elite athletes from members of the Commonwealth of Nations.

The event was first held in 1930 under the title of the British Empire Games in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. The event was renamed as the British Empire and Commonwealth Games in 1954, the British Commonwealth Games in 1970, and gained its current title in 1978. There are currently 54 members of the Commonwealth of Nations, and 71 teams participate in the Games.

The 2010 Commonwealth Games has been held in Delhi, India.

The stamp was designed by Stephen Perera.

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!