Australian World Heritage Sites on postage stamps

Australia is home to some incredible natural wonders and this issue celebrates four UNESCO World Heritage listed sites.

Purnululu National Park in Western Australia was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2003 as an outstanding example containing the major stages in the Earth's evolutionary history, superlative natural phenomena, and areas of exceptional natural beauty.

Kakadu National Park was inscribed on the World Heritage List in three stages over 11 years, and is included for its natural and cultural values.

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia were first inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1986. They include discontinuous rainforest that occurs in New South Wales and south-east Queensland, surrounded by eucalypt forest and agricultural lands. They contain an almost complete record of the major evolution of plant life on Earth.

Covering approximately 20 per cent of the state, the Tasmanian Wilderness is one of three temperate wilderness areas remaining in the southern hemisphere. It contains rocks from almost every geological period and it is recognised as an "International Centre for Plant Diversity".

Add tag

You should contact administrator to place your tags

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!