UEFA EURO 2008 – Participating Countries

The Austrian Post Office will be issuing two souvenir sheets for the upcoming UEFA EURO 2008 soccer championship.

16 national football teams will be competing for the title of European Champion and the prized UEFA Cup. The kick-off is on 7 June 2008, while the keenly awaited final takes place on 29 June 2008 in the Vienna Ernst Happel stadium.

The artistic implementation of the topic is successful both aesthetically and in terms of authenticity. There can be no doubt that the painting of faces with the colours of the national flag has become a popular and common ritual amongst diehard fans over the last few years; it reflects the fervent patriotism that creates the background needed for exciting football games.

Release Date: 16 May 2008

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!