Australian Special Air Service Commemorative Stamp

A stamp marking the 50th anniversary of the Special Air Service (SAS) has been launched in Perth.

The stamp recognise the SAS motto - Who Dares Wins - and the diverse operational theatres the Australian SAS have operated in over the years.

Arts Minister Helen Coonan launched the stamp in Perth, where the SAS are based at Swanbourne.

"They should also remind all Australians of the sacrifices of SAS service," Senator Coonan said.

"Not only do unit members endure combat and the hazards of operational work, but also from time spent separated from their family and friends."

The SAS was formed 50 years ago and its first operations were in Borneo and Vietnam.

Add tag

You should contact administrator to place your tags

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!