The miniature sheet dedicated to the 52nd Eurovision Song Contest, held at Helsinki's Hartwall Arena on 10 and 12 May, features Finland's entries to the contest in different decades. Last year's Finnish victors, monster band Lordi, is celebrated with two stamps. The first stamp bears a portrait of the band's soloist, Mr. Lordi. The drawing is by Mr. Lordi or Tomi Putaansuu himself. The other stamp shows the whole band. In addition to Mr. Lordi, it depicts drummer "Kita" (Sampsa Astala), guitarist "Amen" (Jussi Sydanmaa), bassist "OX" (Samer el Nahhal) and keyboards player "Awa" (Leena Peisa).

Finnish stars who have represented Finland at earlier Eurovision Song Contests, Laila Kinnunen ("Valoa ikkunassa", France 1961), Marion Rung ("Tipitii", Luxembourg 1962 and "Tom Tom Tom" Luxemburg 1973), Kirka Babitzin ("Hengaillaan", Luxembourg 1984) and Katri Helena ("Katson sineen taivaan", Israel 1979 and "Tule luo", Ireland 1993) are shown on the third stamp. The fourth stamp of the miniature sheet bears the insignia of the Eurovision Song Contest with a Finnish flag in its "heart". Silver foil is used for the insignia.

The issue is the first self-adhesive miniature sheet in Finland. The shape of the stamp differs from tradition. The designer of the miniature sheet Timo Berry positioned his subjects in rounded arches like the glare of spotlights.

Issue date - 9 May, 2007

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!