Australia salute World Cup heroes

Aus Post have released a special souvenir sheet to salute the achievements of the country's World Cup squad, who were cruelly knocked out by eventual winners Italy following a late and controversial penalty.

Australia had qualified from a tough group following a win over Japan, a gallant defeat at the hands of Brazil and a rousing draw with Croatia. They met Italy in the second round and the match seemed to be heading for extra time when Lucas Neill was harshly adjudged to have tripped Fabio Grosso in stoppage time. Francesco Totti dispatched the penalty to send the Australians crashing out.

Departing coach Guus Hiddink and the following eight players are featured on the stamps: Mark Viduka, Tim Cahill, Mark Schwarzer, Harry Kewell, John Aloisi, Craig Moore, Marco Bresciano, Brett Emerton.

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!