News

Bicentenary of the Birth of Giuseppe Verdi stamp from Monaco

Bicentenary of the Birth of Giuseppe Verdi stamp from Monaco
Written by admin
2 votedvote

Post of Monaco issued a stamp to commemorate the bicentenary of the birth of the great Italian opera composer Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901). Giuseppe Verdi crosses the entire 19th century of Italian romantic music, bringing melodrama to it in his heyday, in the tradition of Rossini and Puccini.

The stamp is inspired by La Traviata, a major work in the opera repertoire based on the novel The Lady of the Camellias by Alexandre Dumas. Along with Rigoletto and Il Trovatore, this opera is part of the famous "trilogy" which won Verdi international acclaim. 

About the author

admin

Leave a Comment

error: Alert: Content is protected!